Albany’s Glenn Clark Scores Double Honor as NLL Coach of the Year and NLL General Manager of the Year

Architect of amazing turnaround first to win both awards since 2020 as FireWolves vie for the franchise’s first championship this weekend

PHILADELPHIA, May 15, 2024 – Albany FireWolves General Manager and Head Coach Glenn Clark, whose experience in the sport and vision for the franchise has led to one of the most pronounced one-season turnarounds in National Lacrosse League (@NLL) history, today earned the League’s highest honor for both positions as he was selected as the NLL “Les Bartley Award” (Coach of the Year) and NLL General Manager of the Year.

Clark’s FireWolves, after finishing last with a 3-15 record in 2022-23, went 11-7 this season to earn the No. 3 seed in the NLL Playoffs. Albany has since won its first two playoff rounds and will have home floor advantage against the defending NLL champion Buffalo Bandits in the 2024 NLL Finals presented by AXIA Time, beginning Friday (7 p.m., TSN, TSN+, ESPN+) at MVP Arena.

Clark was a standout defenseman from 1998 to 2006, mostly with the Toronto Rock, where he won five NLL Championships, before being named the team’s head coach following the 2006 campaign. After a three-year run in Toronto, he returned to the League in 2015 as head coach of the New England Black Wolves, winning his first Les Bartley Award in 2016. He then accompanied the franchise in its move to Albany prior to the 2021-22 season.

He is the first dual winner of both awards since Paul Day of the Philadelphia Wings was selected for both honors in 2020. Other dual honorees include Derek Keenan with the Portland Lumberjax (2006) and Edmonton Rush (2010 and 2014), and the Arizona Sting’s Bob Hamley (2005).

Below are the all-time winners of the NLL Les Bartley Award (Coach of the Year):

  • 2024 – Glenn Clark, Albany FireWolves
  • 2023 – Curt Malawsky, Calgary Roughnecks
  • 2022 – Tracey Kelusky, Panther City Lacrosse Club
  • 2020 – Paul Day, Philadelphia Wings
  • 2019 – John Tavares & Rich Kilgour, Buffalo Bandits
  • 2018 – Derek Keenan, Saskatchewan Rush
  • 2017 – Ed Comeau, Georgia Swarm
  • 2016 – Glenn Clark, New England Black Wolves
  • 2015 – John Lovell, Toronto Rock
  • 2014 – Derek Keenan, Edmonton Rush
  • 2013 – Troy Cordingley, Toronto Rock
  • 2012 – Joe Sullivan, Minnesota Swarm
  • 2011 – Mike Hasen, Rochester Knighthawks
  • 2010 – Derek Keenan, Edmonton Rush & Chris Hall, Washington Stealth
  • 2009 – Troy Cordingley, Calgary Roughnecks
  • 2008 – Adam Mueller, New York Titans
  • 2007 – Ed Comeau, Rochester Knighthawks
  • 2006 – Derek Keenan, Portland Lumberjax
  • 2005 – Bob Hamley, Arizona Sting
  • 2004 – Paul Day, Rochester Knighthawks
  • 2003 – Darris Kilgour, Buffalo Bandits
  • 2002 – Bob McMahon, Albany Attack
  • 2001 – Tony Resch, Philadelphia Wings

The all-time winners of the NLL General Manager of the Year Award:

  • 2024 — Glenn Clark, Albany FireWolves
  • 2023 – Dan Carey, Rochester Knighthawks
  • 2022 – Steve Dietrich, Buffalo Bandits
  • 2020 – Paul Day, Philadelphia Wings
  • 2019 – Steve Dietrich, Buffalo Bandits
  • 2018 – Curt Styres, Rochester Knighthawks
  • 2017 – John Arlotta, Georgia Swarm
  • 2016 – Steve Dietrich, Buffalo Bandits
  • 2015 – Terry Sanderson, Toronto Rock
  • 2014 – Derek Keenan, Edmonton Rush
  • 2013 – Doug Locker, Washington Stealth
  • 2012 – John Arlotta, Minnesota Swarm
  • 2011 – Curt Styres, Rochester Knighthawks
  • 2010 – Derek Keenan, Edmonton Rush
  • 2009 – Ed Comeau, New York Titans
  • 2008 – Marty O’Neil, Minnesota Swarm
  • 2007 – Marty O’Neil, Minnesota Swarm
  • 2006 – Derek Keenan, Portland Lumberjax
  • 2005 – Bob Hamley, Arizona Sting
  • 2004 – Johnny Mouradian, San Jose Stealth
  • 2003 – Kurt Silcott, Buffalo Bandits
  • 2002 – Dave Evans, Vancouver Ravens

The NLL will continue to announce its award winners throughout the week, in advance of Friday’s Game 1 in Albany.

2023-24 NLL Awards announcement schedule and summary:

Monday, May 13

  • Executive of the Year – John Catalano, President and Chief Executive Officer, Halifax Thunderbirds
  • Tom Borrelli Award (Media Person of the Year) – Adam Levi,, Inside Lacrosse

Tuesday, May 14

  • Sportsmanship Award – Lyle Thompson, Georgia Swarm
  • Teammate of the Year (via NLLPA) – Zack Greer, Las Vegas Desert Dogs

Wednesday, May 15

  • Les Bartley Award (Coach of the Year) – Glenn Clark, Albany FireWolves
  • General Manager of the Year – Glenn Clark, Albany FireWolves

Thursday, May 16

  • Offensive Player of the Year
  • Defensive Player of the Year
  • Transition Player of the Year
  • Goaltender of the Year

Friday, May 17

  • Most Valuable Player and the All-NLL First and Second Teams
  • Rookie of the Year and the NLL All-Rookie Team

About the National Lacrosse League:

The National Lacrosse League (NLL) is North America’s largest professional lacrosse league and welcomed more than 1 million fans for the second year in a row during the 2023-24 season. Founded in 1986, the NLL is comprised of 15 franchises across the United States and Canada, and recently unveiled its largest brand campaign ever, “Welcome to The Next Major League™” and introduced its comprehensive grassroots initiative, NLL UnBOXed™, that will expand the League’s footprint to more than 60 communities across North America by 2027.

For the latest scores and developments in the National Lacrosse League, please visit: and find the NLL on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube and TikTok.


Media inquiries contact:

Joe Favorito,, 917-566-8345

Jerry Milani,, 917-797-5663

Gary Groob
Gary Groob

Gary Groob has been involved with Lacrosse for the majority of his life, whether playing, coaching, or covering the sport for the media.

An avid fan, with a real drive about helping to “grow the game”, Gary became part of podcasts about the game in 2010. Through the podcasts, Mr. Groob was given an opportunity to write about lacrosse, and the rest as they say, is history.

Through many miles (flying and driving) Gary has made inroads with the National Lacrosse League, Major Series Lacrosse League, the Ontario Lacrosse Association, as well as the Arena Lacrosse League, covering the leagues, their teams, and players, working for, and in concert with all of them.

In the year 2020, Mr. Groob was made the media person for the Arena Lacrosse League, voted onto the board of directors of the Brampton Excelsiors Lacrosse Club, as well as being made administrator of the Lacrosse page “Global Lacrosse” with a membership of 9000 members in over 90 Countries. Gary was also made an administrator of Lacrosse History Past Present and Future in 2022.

Mr. Groob co-hosts a weekly Lacrosse show on Spanglish Sports World, and ZingoTV channel 250, as well as writes a weekly lacrosse column for La Portada Canada News (both in print, and online).

Gary also hosts a Lacrosse talk show and podcast for The Edge of Philly Sports Network, seen live Sunday nights at 9pm (ET), and archived on the Edge of Philly YouTube page, as well as Spotify.

Mr. Groob’s other sports interests include Hockey, Football, Boxing, Wrestling, and Baseball, competing competitively in Boxing and Wrestling for many years.