Jim Curtin Wins Coach of the Year!

CHESTER, PA – Major League Soccer today announced that Philadelphia Union Head Coach Jim Curtin has been named the 2020 Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year.

In 2020, Curtin led Philadelphia to the club’s first-ever piece of hardware – the Supporters’ Shield – which was awarded by their passionate fans in recognition of the most points per game (2.04) with the best regular season record (14-4-5), earning top seed and homefield advantage in the Audi 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs. During a record-setting season, the Union posted an unblemished 9-0-0 mark at Subaru Park, achieving the first perfect home record over an entire season in league history. Philadelphia led MLS with a mere 20 goals allowed this season, posting 0.87 goals against average that ranks seventh-best in league. Under Curtin’s leadership, the Union have consistently increased their winning percentage each season, an upward trajectory that culminated in 2020 with by far the best mark in club history (0.717).

After beginning his coaching career in the Philadelphia Union Academy in 2010, Curtin has moved his way up the club’s coaching ranks. He became an assistant coach for the first team in 2012 before taking the helm as head coach in 2014 and leading the club to consecutive U.S. Open Cup Finals (2014, 2015). As a player, Curtin was an MLS All-Star with more than 150 appearances, and he becomes the fifth MLS player all-time to win Supporters’ Shield as both a player and a head coach. 

Curtin will lead the Philadelphia Union in Round One of the Audi 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs on Nov. 24 when they face the lower advancing team from the Play-In Round.

Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2020: Jim Curtin – Philadelphia Union
2019: Bob Bradley – Los Angeles Football Club
2018: Gerardo “Tata” Martino – Atlanta United
2017: Greg Vanney – Toronto FC
2016: Oscar Pareja – FC Dallas
2015: Jesse Marsch – New York Red Bulls
2014: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew SC
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew SC
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – LA Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny

Pat Bernard
Pat Bernard

Pat Bernard has four years of podcasting. His first year with the Pattison Ave Phantics and four years running Devereaux Sports. Now currently, both Devereaux Sports and Edge of Sports. Pat is a  for 6 Philly sports fan.  Flyers, Phillies, Eagles, Sixers, Wings, and Union. The Gobbler is a former pro wrestler and ACPW Hall of Famer! He is originally out of Ambler from Northeast Philly (by the Tacony Bridge).  Pat is a credentialed Philadelphia Wings Beat Reported under Edge of Philly Sports.