Larry Fila and the BILL/PSL

Kevin M. Neibauer caught up with Larry Fila in part of our One on One Series

Mr. Fila has been around lacrosse for quite a few years, Larry is a pioneer in putting together teams and leagues.

So, let’s go One on One, Larry Fila.

KMN- The Baltimore Indoor Lacrosse League or, the BBILL, how did that come about?

LF= The league was founded and ran by Marc Hoffman As the years unfolded, these fine people assumed the reigns. 2nd Commissioner Bill Curtis, 3rd Commissioner Hunter Francis, 4th Commissioner Ginny  Capicchion, 5th Commissioner, and now President Larry Fila.


KMN- What is your lacrosse experience?

LF- I was a walk-on at Towson in 1981 and played for two years. When I finished college I did not play lacrosse until 1992. My first box experience was in the B.I.L.L. playing for the Baltimore City Police team in 1992. My very first box game in the B.I.L.L. was against Jeff Klodzen’s team, who had Paul and Gary Gait, Dave Pietramala, Ron Klausner, Kip Fulks….. Needs less to say it was quite an experience and I fell in love with the game and played for 20 years retiring from play in 2012 at age 52. 

Experience Playing Box

KMN- Tell us about your Box Experiences

LF- Baltimore Indoor Lacrosse League Championships: 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2004, 2010, 2012.Baltimore Indoor Lacrosse League Championships Appearances: 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012.Towson University: 1981, 1982, Baltimore Thunder Practice team 1994, 1995Aleš Hřebeský Memorial International Box Lacrosse Tournament Championships: 2002, 2003, and 2004.Aleš Hřebeský Memorial International Box Lacrosse Tournament Championships Appearances: 2000, 2001,2002, 2003, 2004.

KMN- With an impressive resume such as that, you must be excited about the upcoming season, what else can you tell us about the upcoming events?

LF- Sure, where do I begin

The 36th season of the B.I.L.L.has a very different format for this season. 

Additional information for the 2021 Season.  
B.I.L.L. Season XXXVI Details:Rules: 2020-2022 Men’s Indoor International  Official Playing Rules and B.I.L.L. Indoor Rule Modifications. (see attached)Referee in Chief: Kevin Forrester (3 referees for each game).All Players must be current US Lacrosse Members and in good standing throughout the entire season.
Games: Teams play each team once. Quarterfinal round: Top two teams have a bye / 3 seed vs. 6 seed / 4 seed vs. seed 5 seed. The semifinals will be winners of QFG1 vs 2 seed / WQFG2 vs 1 seed. 

Kevin Neibauer
Kevin Neibauer

Kevin has followed and promoted the game of lacrosse since May 19, 1974.
The same day the Philadelphia Flyers won the Cup, the Philadelphia Wings were introduced to Neibauer and Philadelphia.

Kevin has covered many sports, including baseball, football, basketball, and.. lacrosse. A former licensed football referee and baseball umpire, Kevin brings a unique insight to his game coverage.

A published writer in JustHockey Magazine, Kevin covered the American Hockey League as well as a monthly story on a pugilist where Kevin used the pen name, The Rink Rat. Neibauer turned his attentions to lacrosse for a few years and does his part, whether podcasting or writing to grow the game. Kevin branched out to his roots and currently provides insight for all Philadelphia teams for Edge of Philly as well as his full-time duties with LaxPhilly.



Popup Builder Mailchimp extension requires authentication.