NLL Crossecheck

What if I told you that, analytically speaking (when one takes into account the level of competition in that year), the greatest pro box teams of all time were:

1.  Long Island Tomahawks (1975)
2.  Toronto Rock (2013)
3.  Detroit Olympics (1968)
4.  Detroit Turbos (1992)
5.  Georgia Swarm (2017)

Somehow, though, only Georgia won the playoffs in their year of dominance (and only Detroit (68) got to the finals)

(Honorable mention: Brantford Warriors (1972) would come in at fifth ahead of Georgia if we included the marginally professional NLL of 1972–and they won the league playoff (lost the “professional final” to New Westminster))

Or how, using a “devastation scale” metric (basically, your ability to overwhelm your opponents by scoring more goals), the top five is:

1.  Coquitlam Adanacs (1969)
2.  Toronto Maple Leafs (1931)
3.  Philadelphia Wings (1994)
4.  Peterborough Lakers (1969)
5.  Edmonton Rush (2014)

And of that group–only Philadelphia and Peterborough won titles in those years

Makes you wonder about playoffs, eh?

How about the fact that the 1975 NLL season was, by far, the single most competitive season in the history of professional box lacrosse? 

Want to learn more about the “fancy stats” behind this?
Look for a CrosseCheck article soon…

Steve Holroyd
Steve Holroyd