Overtime Win By Timbermen Forces Game 4

Colton Lidstone scored the game-winner as the Nanaimo Timbermen avoided elimination with a 8-7 overtime win over the Langley Thunder on Tuesday night.

Langley held a 6-3 lead heading into the third period. However, Nanaimo outscored them 3-0 in the final frame to send the game into extra time.

Because WLA overtimes are not sudden death, there were three goals scored in the extra frame with Nanaimo coming out in front.

Anyone’s Game

The game could have gone either way after the first period. Holden Garlent took a pass from his Saskatchewan Rush teammate and scored shorthanded 3:28 into the game to give Langley the lead.

Nanaimo got on the board at the 8:10 mark on the power play off a goal from Taggart Clark to tie it up at one.

Connor Robinson rounded out the scoring with 8:01 left to play as the Thunder held a slim 2-1 lead heading into the first break.

Cherry Law Firm Website Banner

Langley Pulls Away In The Second

Connor Robinson scored a pair of goals to open the second period as the Thunder began to pull away.

Ryan Sheridan scored his first of three goals with 9:51 left on the clock shorthanded as the Timbermen trailed 5-3.

Robinson then potted his fourth of the game with 2:23 left as the Thunder held a 6-3 advantage heading into the third.

Comeback By The Timbermen

With their playoff lives on the line, Nanaimo put together a 3-0 third period to send the game into overtime. Devlin Shanahan was between the pipes for the Timbermen and stopped all 13 shots he faced to keep them alive.

Jon Phillips opened the scoring 4:25 into the third on a power play marker. Sheridan followed that up 3:59 later and suddenly Nanaimo was within one.

Nathan Grenon, with 4:46 remaining, tied up the game to send it into overtime.

Lidstone With the Overtime Winner

Both teams showed desperation in the overtime period.

Ethan Ticehurst scored unassisted 1:02 into the overtime period. With no sudden death, Curtis Dickson scored 1:02.

However, Colton Lidstone scored with 1:04 on the clock for the overtime win and force Game 4 back in Nanaimo on Thursday.

Three Stars

  1. Ryan Sheridan, Nanaimo Timbermen
  2. Connor Robinson, Langley Thunder
  3. Devlin Shanahan, Nanaimo Timbermen

Top Scorers

Nanaimo Timbermen

Ryan Sheridan, 3g 1a

Colton LIdstone, 1g 2a

Brett McIntyre, 3a

Jon Phillips, 1g 2a

Taggart Clark, 1g 2a

Langley Thunder

Dane Dobbie, 6a

Connor Robinson, 5g

Curtis Dickson, 1g 1a

Robert Church, 2a

Dylan Kinnear, 2a

Don’t forget to check us out every Sunday night at 9 pm (ET) on eopsports.com

Shawn Slaght
Shawn Slaght

Shawn Slaght has been a sports reporter across the Canadian prairies for over 10 years and has experience covering everything from junior hockey to World Cup skiing to all levels of lacrosse. He is the Saskatchewan correspondent for All Lacrosse All The Time.