Rush Pick Up Home Floor Win Over Warriors

The Saskatchewan Rush exorcised some demons on Saturday night at the SaskTel Centre, defeating the Vancouver Warriors 17-7.

The win is only Saskatchewan’s second victory on their home floor this season.

It only took 6:31 seconds into the first quarter for the Rush to go up 3-0 with markers from Matthew Dinsdale, Jeff Shattler and Austin Murphy.

Logan Schuss would stop the momentum temporarily at the 8:10 mark, but goals from Ben McIntosh, Mike Messenger and Ryan Keenan would give the Rush a 6-1 lead after one.

McIntosh would open the scoring in the second, but the Warriors picked up a bit of life with goals from Schuss and Lyndon Bunio to make it 7-3 for Saskatchewan at halftime.

It was also the end of the night for Warriors’ starting goaltender Eric Penney as he was pulled in favour of Nolan Clayton.

Unlike previous games, the Rush wouldn’t let off the gas in the second half and let Vancouver back into the game.

Robert Church would score 33 seconds into the third and then he dialled in from long distance to beat Clayton at 6:52 for a shorthanded marker.

Bunio would bring the Warriors back within five, but a transition goal from Chris Corbeil and a goal from Mark Matthews would make it 11-4 for the Rush.

Former Rush player Riley Loewen and Keenan would exchange goals to end the third quarter 12-5.

Schuss would score 34 seconds into the fourth as Vancouver tried to mount a late comeback. Matthews would find the back of the net at the 1:02 mark and Keenan would score 19 seconds later to put the Rush up by eight.

Jordan McBride would put the Warriors back within seven, but the Rush wouldn’t let up. McIntosh, Shattler and Keenan would round out the scoring.

Top Scorers

Mark Matthews (2g, 7a)
Jeff Shattler (2g, 5a)
Ben McIntosh (3g, 3a)

Mitch Jones (6a)
Logan Schuss (3g)
Jordan McBride (1g, 2a)

Shawn Slaght
Shawn Slaght

Shawn Slaght has been a sports reporter across the Canadian prairies for over 10 years and has experience covering everything from junior hockey to World Cup skiing to all levels of lacrosse. He is the Saskatchewan correspondent for All Lacrosse All The Time.