Six Nations Claim 2023 Mann Cup

The Six Nations Chiefs held on to defeat the New Westminster Salmonbellies 11-9 in Game 5 to win the 2023 Mann Cup.

With the game tied 7-7 midway through the third period, it was a four-goal run by the Chiefs that was the difference in this game. The win is Six Nation’s seventh Mann Cup.

Ben McIntosh and Shayne Jackson both stood out with a hat trick each. Meanwhile, Cody Jamieson and Dhane Smith each had a pair of goals for Six Nations.

The Chiefs went back to Doug Jamieson in goal and he stopped 50 of 59 shots in the victory. On the other end of the floor, Zach Higgins stopped 42 of 54 shots in the loss.

Salmonbellies Hold Slight End After One

Six Nations opened the scoring 4:40 into the game with McIntosh finding the back of the net.

New Westminster replied with a two-goal run off markers from Keegan Bal and Ryan Martel as the Salmonbellies led 2-1 with 1:32 on the clock.

McIntosh scored with 54 seconds left to tie it. However, New Westminster got the final possession. With an extra attacker on the floor, Bal scored with three seconds left to make it 3-2 for the Salmonbellies after one period of play.

Chiefs Take Over The Lead

Six Nations opened the second period with a three-goal run in the first 6:46. Smith found the back of the net 1:16 into the period followed by Cody Jamieson 26 seconds later. Shayne Jackson would score on the power play to give the Chiefs a 5-3 lead.

Kevin Crowley got New Westminster back within one on the power play at 11:15.

However, Six Nations replied with a pair of goals from Shayne Jackson, including a shorthanded marker, to make it 7-4 for the Chiefs heading into the final period.

Six Nations Capture The 2023 Mann Cup

With their season on the line, New Westminster wasn’t going down without a fight. They opened the third period with a three-goal run to tie up the game.

Haiden Dickson scored on the power play 6:20 into the period and scored again 2:33 seconds later. Will Malcom found the back of the net just passed the midway point of the third to tie the game 7-7.

The Chiefs’ firepower proved to be too much. They went on a four-goal run, which would be enough to capture the 2023 Mann Cup.

Bryan Cole scored with 9:43 on the clock followed by Cody Jamieson taking a feed from Dhane Smith 10 seconds later to make it 9-7. Sixteen seconds after that, Dhane Smith would score himself to give Six Nations a three-goal cushion.

Ben McIntosh scored with 5:53 on the clock to round out the four-goal run as Six Nations took a commanding 11-7 lead.

In desperation time, Ryan Martel scored with 2:29 seconds left with an extra attacker on the floor. He added another extra attacker goal with 28 seconds on the clock, but it wasn’t enough to extend the series.

Top Scorers

Six Nations

Cody Jamieson, 2g 4a

Dhane Smith, 2g 3a

Ben McIntosh, 3g 1a

New Westminster

Keegan Bal, 2g 5a

Kevin Crowley, 1g 3a

Ryan Martel, 3g

Will Malcom, 1g 2a

Don’t forget to check us out every Sunday night at 9pm (ET) on

Shawn Slaght
Shawn Slaght

Shawn Slaght has been a sports reporter across the Canadian prairies for over 10 years and has experience covering everything from junior hockey to World Cup skiing to all levels of lacrosse. He is the Saskatchewan correspondent for All Lacrosse All The Time.