The IBLA, What is It?

The Interstate Box Lacrosse League or, as it’s known, the IBLA. A relatively new entity in the Box Lacrosse world.

Starting in 2017, the league quickly joined forces with the National Lacrosse League in 2019. 52 teams over 17 regions, a relatively short season due to the geographical constraints,

Each year there has been a different league Champion with the Philadelphia Phunk being the latest. In 2018, the IBLA started with an expansion program by going to Arizona and California under the moniker, RBLL or, the Regional Box Lacrosse League.

The new divisions joined existing RBLL Denver, The next season, 2019 the expansion continued with Arizona and California growing the game even further West.

After the Parker Rangers won the initial title, New England champs, the Maine Northmen got the best of the Louisville Canards, 17-14.

With the advent of Covid, the league realigned with two Divisions. Steel (San Diego Whalers, Grand Rapids Grizzlies, Mooncrest Munitionz. Aksarben Stampede and the Louisville Canards. The second division, Maple, consisted of the Maine Northmen, Philadelphia Phunk, Charlotte Reapers, Albany Hyenas, as well as the Minneapolis Wheat Kings,

History would be made on September 17, 2019 with Larson Sundown being the first IBLA player ever drafted into the NLL (Round Two, 36th overall) by the New York Riptide.

The Philadelphia Phunk defeated the Wheat Kings, in the lowest-scoring championship game, 9-5.

More expansion for the 2021 season with Baton Rouge and New Orleans making up the Louisiana Branch. Texas also added a pair of teams, both located in Austin. Orlando and Tampa filled out Florida.

Maryland placed four squads in with Empire South (New York) with three teams and an Expansion team (Delco Devils) rounding out New Jersey.

The Championship Tournament, consisting of each area winner, will take place September 17 thru 19 in Lakeland, Florida at the RP Funding Center.

Another enticement for players is the huge assortment of past and current professional players including, Casey Dowd (Denver Outlaws), George Downey (NLL), Brad Gillies (NLL), Jules Heningburg (PLL<NLL), Will Jennings (MLL), Jake Morris (WLA)<Bill “Thrilla” O’Brien (NLL), Bobby Schmidt (MLL), Larson Sundown (NLL Draftee), Corbyn Tao (NLL), Ty Thompson (PLL), Rachel Villarelli (ALL),, Kori Halftown ( Can Am), Leroy Halftown (NLL) as well as Head Referee, Kevin Forrester (NLL as well as current NCAA referee), Gowah Abrams (NLL), Ryan Ward (NLL), Jordan Hall (NLL) and Tony Millon (NLL) who had this to say, “The competition in our division was excellent! Teams played hard and played traditional two Man Box. The contrast between when I was in my twenties with field players playing box has changed for the young guys. Today players are much moresavvy and Box Lacrosse knowledgeable!”

Kevin Neibauer
Kevin Neibauer

Kevin has followed and promoted the game of lacrosse since May 19, 1974.
The same day the Philadelphia Flyers won the Cup, the Philadelphia Wings were introduced to Neibauer and Philadelphia.

Kevin has covered many sports, including baseball, football, basketball, and.. lacrosse. A former licensed football referee and baseball umpire, Kevin brings a unique insight to his game coverage.

A published writer in JustHockey Magazine, Kevin covered the American Hockey League as well as a monthly story on a pugilist where Kevin used the pen name, The Rink Rat. Neibauer turned his attentions to lacrosse for a few years and does his part, whether podcasting or writing to grow the game. Kevin branched out to his roots and currently provides insight for all Philadelphia teams for Edge of Philly as well as his full-time duties with LaxPhilly.