Throwback Thursday #tbt

This week’s Throwback Thursday player is Darris Kilgour.

Kilgour played for the Buffalo Bandits of the National Lacrosse League for eight seasons, before finishing his playing career with the Rochester Knighthawks and Albany Attack. As a player, he won three championships with the Bandits, and is the all-time team leader in penalty minutes and faceoffs. Kilgour’s number ’43’ was retired by the Bandits in March 2001, making him the first player to have his number retired by an NLL team. He was inducted into the National Lacrosse League Hall of Fame in 2007.

In 1994, as a member of the Six Nations Chiefs, Kilgour was awarded the Mike Kelly Memorial Trophy as most valuable player in the Mann Cup competition.

MILL/ NLL Playing Statistics:

1992-99 Buffalo Bandits
1999 Rochester Knighthawks
2000 Albany Attack

Regular season:

GP 76, G 144, A 168, Pts. 312, LB 418, PM 285


GP 15, G 26, A 35, Pts  61, LB 86, PM 67


Kilgour became head coach of the Washington Power for the 2001 season. He led the Power to the playoffs in each of his two seasons as coach before returning to Buffalo as their head coach after the 2002 season. The Bandits posted a 12-4 record in 2003, and Kilgour was awarded the NLL Coach of the Year Award (later renamed to the Les Bartley Award). The next year, after a mediocre 8-8 regular season, the Bandits caught fire in the postseason, making it to the Championship game for the first time since 1997, but lost the championship game to the Calgary Roughnecks losing 14-11. In 2005 the Bandits would again make it to the Champion’s Cup final, this time falling short against Colorado Mammoth 16-9.

Following the 2012 season, Kilgour was fired from his post as general manager of the Bandits, but continued to hold the position of head coach. A season later on June 10, 2013, the Bandits Director of Lacrosse Operations, Scott Loffler, informed Kilgour that he would not be retained as coach for the 2014 season.

Shortly after leaving the Buffalo Bandits Kilgour was hired as head coach of the Seneca WarChiefs, a Junior B box lacrosse team who compete in the First Nations Junior B Lacrosse League.

Overview of Achievements:

Won four Champion’s Cups with the Buffalo Bandits (Three as a player 1992, 1993, 1996, and one as a coach 2008).

Coach of the Year 2003
NLL Hall of Fame 2007
Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame 2009
Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame 2009





Thank You! You have successfully subscribed to our mail list.

Too many subscribe attempts for this email address.

/ ( MM/DD )
The Teams You Love