Thunder One Win Away From WLA Title

The Langley Thunder are just one win away from winning the WLA Championship after downing the New Westminster Salmonbellies 6-4 in Game 5 on Thursday night.

The win gives Langley a 3-2 series lead in the best-of-seven. They head back to the Langley Events Centre on Saturday night where the Thunder can put the series away on home floor.

Once again neither team gave an inch in a back-and-forth battle. The difference was third-period goals from Nathaniel Kozevnikov and Dane Dobbie in the low-scoring affair.

Frank Scigliano picked up the win between the pipes as he only allowed four goals on 38 shots. Credit to Zach Higgins in New Westminsters goal as he allowed six goals but faced 52 shots.

Thunder Hold Slim Lead In The First

Curtis Dickson opened the scoring for Langley 3:09 into the game but then both teams went scoreless for 8:28.

Robert Church broke the stalemate with 8:23 left in the first period to put the Thunder up 2-0. Kevin Crowley got New Westminster on the board with 6:32 left on the clock as Langley held a 2-1 lead after the first period.

Cherry Law Firm Website Banner

Salmonbellies Even It Up

The Salmonbellies opened the scoring 4:29 into the second frame with Keegan Bal taking a feed from Mitch Jones to tie it up at two.

Jones then scored just over two minutes later to give New Westminster the lead. Forty seconds into a Drew Belgrave slashing penalty, Curtis Dickson scored on the power play and we were once again tied up 3-3.

Twenty-four seconds after Curtis Dickson’s goal, Church scored his second of the game as the Thunder retook the lead 4-3.

Will Malcom rounded out the second period scoring with 6:53 on clock. He was tied up the game 4-4 heading into the third period.

Langley One Step Closer To Second Straight Title

The Thunder then locked it down in the third period as Scigliano stopped all 11 shots he faced to pick up the win.

Kozevnikov scored the game-winner 7:43 into the final frame. Dobbie added the insurance marker at 9:26 to bring Langley one win away from repeating as WLA champions.

Three Stars

  1. Robert Church, Langley Thunder
  2. Frank Scigliano, Langley Thunder
  3. Mitch Jones, New Westminster Salmonbellies

Top Scorers

Langley Thunder

Robert Church, 2g 3a

Connor Robinson, 2a

Curtis Dickson, 2g

Graydon Bradley, 2a

Dane Dobbie, 1g 1a

New Westminster Salmonbellies

Mitch Jones, 1g 2a

Keegan Bal, 1g 1a

Don’t forget to check us out every Sunday night at 9pm (ET) on

Shawn Slaght
Shawn Slaght

Shawn Slaght has been a sports reporter across the Canadian prairies for over 10 years and has experience covering everything from junior hockey to World Cup skiing to all levels of lacrosse. He is the Saskatchewan correspondent for All Lacrosse All The Time.