Timbermen win overtime thriller over Burrards


The Nanaimo Timbermen kept themselves in the hunt for first place winning a 10-9 overtime thriller over the Maple Ridge Burrards on Sunday night in WLA action.

The Burrards came from behind to take the lead with 2:58 left to play in the game. The Timbermen tied it with 2:16 left in regulation, and Teioshontateh McComber scored the winner 1:50 into three-on-three overtime.

It was the Timbermen’s fourth straight win to improve their record to 8-5 and third place in the WLA standings. The first-place Victoria Shamrocks are 8-2 with two games in hand and the Coquitlam Adanacs are second at 8-4 with one game in hand.

Meanwhile, the Burrards remain at the bottom of the standings, having lost their last seven games and hold a record of 1-9.

High-scoring first period

Both teams combined for 10 goals in the first period as the offences flexed their muscles to open the game.

Nick Finlay got the Timbermen on the board first 1:06 into the game. The lead was short-lived as Dennon Armstrong and Garrett Winter added markers at 5:35 and 6:29 respectively to give Maple Ridge a 2-1 advantage.

Finlay struck again at 7:17 to tie up the game, but 16 seconds later Mitch McDole would regain the lead for the Burrards.

Brett Kujala capped off a two-goal run for Maple Ridge to put them up 4-2. Adam Wiedemann scored 13 seconds later for the Timberman to begin a three-goal run for Nanaimo. Jon Phillips added the other two goals in the run.

Dylan Mcintosh scored with 17 seconds left in the first period for the Burrards to tie up the game 5-5 heading into the second period.

Scoring deadlock continues

The defences and goaltending began to settle in for a low-scoring second period. Each team put away one goal as the scoring deadlock continued.

Coady Adamson found the back of the net on an individual effort for the Timbermen at 16:51 to make it 6-5 for Nanaimo.

Mitch McDole replied for the Burrards at 18:21 to make the second 6-6 heading into the third.

Timbermen force overtime

Kris Veltman took a holding penalty with 1:01 left in the second, meaning that Nanaimo started the third period a man down. The Timbermen fought through it as Will Johansen scored shorthanded 35 seconds into the frame.

The Timbermen would go up by two with a Colton Lidstone marker at 9:26, making the score 8-6.

A desperate Burrards team kept chipping away. Gabe Procyk scored on the power play at 12:26 to get Maple Ridge within one. Ryan Jones would then tie it at eight at 16:34.

Procyk would put Maple Ridge ahead 28 seconds later and the Burrards looked to end their losing skid. However, Zach Manns tied it up with 2:16 left to play. Neither team could find the equalizer, so we were heading to overtime tied 9-9.

McComber with the winner in overtime thriller

The teams went three-on-three for overtime. It was an important match for both teams as the Burrards looked to get back in the win column, while Nanaimo tries to keep pace with the top teams in the standings.

Through regulation, the Timbermen had 55 shots on net, while the Burrards had 43 shots in net. During the overtime period, each team had a pair of shots, but it was the Timbermen’s second shot that was the game-winner.

McComber ended the overtime thriller at 1:50, diving into the crease for his lone goal of the game.

Three Stars

  1. Teioshontateh McComber, Nanaimo Timbermen
  2. Garrett Winter, Maple Ridge Burrards
  3. Jon Phillips, Nanaimo Timbermen

Top scorers

Nanaimo Timbermen

Colton Lidstone, 1g 3a

Jon Phillips, 2g

Nick Finlay, 2g

Adam Wiedeman, 1g 1a

Teioshontateh, 1g 1a

Zach Manns, 1g 1a

Tyson Roe, 2a

Maple Ridge Burrards

Dennon Armstrong, 1g 2a

Garrett Winter, 1g 2a

Mitch McDole, 2g

Gabe Procyk, 2g

Brett Kujala, 1g 1a

Will Clayton, 2a

Don’t forget to check us out every Sunday night at 9pm (ET)

Shawn Slaght
Shawn Slaght

Shawn Slaght has been a sports reporter across the Canadian prairies for over 10 years and has experience covering everything from junior hockey to World Cup skiing to all levels of lacrosse. He is the Saskatchewan correspondent for All Lacrosse All The Time.