Whipsnakes Repeat as Champions of the PPL

The 2020 Lacrosse Season came to close with a huge Whipsnakes comeback that resulted in a repeat Champions of the Premier Lacrosse League.

A well-coached championship-caliber teams make adjustments and find ways to win. A ten-goal Whipsnakes run was the difference in this championship game. Things started well for the Whipsnakes with Mike Chananchuk (1g) and Zed Williams (6g) finding twine in the early stages of the game.

Josh Byrne (2g, 10 shots), Austin Staats (1g), and Miles Thompson (1g,1a) converting a sweet Curtis Dickson (1a) feed closed the first. This put the Chaos up, 3-2. Some creative one-on-one play was the difference. Josh Byrne (2g, 6 shots) on a bad angle shot would beat Kyle Behnlor for the only second-quarter goal. The half came to a climax with Chaos reigning supreme, 4-2.

PhanTees.com Ad

In the second half, Kevin Buchanan (1g) nailed a pretty overhand shot before a great individual effort by Dhane Smith (1g) pushed it to a four lead for Chaos at 6-2. That would be their last hurrah. Brad Smith (1g) would end a 19-minute scoreless string to close the third stanza with Chaos holding a 6-3 advantage. Adjustments were made and a deluge rained down as the ‘Snakes blew it open by scoring four goals in 1:04.

John Haus (1g) started the parade at the 10:12 mark followed :31 later when Zed Williams scored his first of five last quarter markers. Face-off specialist, Joe Nardella, a force the entire game, won the draw and set up Williams who made no mistake. It took :31 for Williams to net his hat trick and the romp was on. Jay Carlson converted a pretty around the horn at 9:19 to notch the ultimate game-winner.

The Snakes were just beginning. Williams fired a laser from two feet inside the two-point line then added another after he muscled off a check. The score was 9-6. Three minutes later, Matt Rambo (1g, 3a) scored off a nice spin move coming from behind the net. On his 14th shot of the game, Williams nailed his sock trick at the 2:45 mark. Joe Locascio (1g) closed the scoring book on the season.

Whipsnakes Championship Stats

The oddity is the Whipsnakes repeat as champions are they went nearly 29:00 without a goal then shut out Chaos for 17:00. Matt Rambo and Zed Williams were held scoreless in their playoff against The Redwoods. The two combined for 7 goals and three assists. Kyle Bernlohr made 15 saves and Joe Nardella was lights out going 12 of 19 with 8 loose balls from the “X”.

For more lacrosse action click here.

Kevin Neibauer
Kevin Neibauer

Kevin has followed and promoted the game of lacrosse since May 19, 1974.
The same day the Philadelphia Flyers won the Cup, the Philadelphia Wings were introduced to Neibauer and Philadelphia.

Kevin has covered many sports, including baseball, football, basketball, and.. lacrosse. A former licensed football referee and baseball umpire, Kevin brings a unique insight to his game coverage.

A published writer in JustHockey Magazine, Kevin covered the American Hockey League as well as a monthly story on a pugilist where Kevin used the pen name, The Rink Rat. Neibauer turned his attentions to lacrosse for a few years and does his part, whether podcasting or writing to grow the game. Kevin branched out to his roots and currently provides insight for all Philadelphia teams for Edge of Philly as well as his full-time duties with LaxPhilly.